How do cars affect our life and what can we do to address the problems cars caused

Hi, guys! I am writing an essay for our school's practice exam. Here is my essay and thanks in advance!

Original Question: The car has made travel much more convenient but it has brought with it number of problems as well. Describe what these problems are and discuss what can be done to address them.

Since Watt invented steam engine, industrial age has revolutionized our way of living, especially in transport. As a kind of modern transport, cars have simplified travelling and moving. Whereas, the problems come along with cars have also risen onto the surface of iceberg. This essay intends to discuss what problems cars caused and give several practical solutions.

Due to the use of liquid petroleum, the waste of running engine normally would be released into air directly which potentially causes numerous environmental problems. For example, the acid rain can destroy natural habitats and affect food production. As a result, farmers cannot grow the food stuff necessary to feed the population.

Another severe problem caused by excessively use of cars is its effect on human health, most notably on the respiratory system. The number of people suffering from breathing problems such as asthma and bronchitis in US alone has increased by more than four hundred percent.

Besides the effects on individuals, cars have transformed many countries as well. Take an example of United Arab Emirates. In Dubai, with the enormous amount of money made by selling oils, local people become wealthier and are able to afford five cars for each family in average. And since wealthy car owners are reluctant to move to bus stop under the burning sun, they rather choose to drive in comfortable private cars. Consequently, the whole city turns into gridlock everyday.

Various solutions have come out including hybrid cars, advanced public transport system and etc. Propelled by electric motors, electric cars are considered as a significant solution to the current problem.

In conclusion, even we can enjoy the convenience of cars, we still need to think the aftermath that excessive car using will bring. The car can be a useful tool as long as we can reduce the side effect of it. And to solve the problem, we need to put more clean-energy cars into practice.