IELTS task 2: Capital punishment (the death penalty) in society

Hellooo Freinds...

I'm preparing an IELTS exam. I need feedbcak. Task Response, Coherence and Cohesion, Lexical Resource and Grammar.

Question:

Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is in essential to control violence in society. Discuss.

Answer:

Giving capital punishment has been a controversy for years. Some people believe that this kind of punishment is essential to apply because they believe criminals tend to repeat their crime as they live for it. However, some others believe that imprison criminals for quit long time will be better as it is more humane. At the same time, this punishment can make criminals get intimidated. Then, it can prevent them for repeating the same mistakes.

When a country omits the application of this punishment, the increasing of violence is one of problems which some people are worried about. Further, people' live is in danger as they have to live together in the society with criminals who can live freely after they are out of prison. This worry does not emerge without any strong reasons. However, as a wise country, the application of this kind of punishment may not be applied without any other deep thoughts.

People need to get a second chance. So are criminals, who had done various kinds of crimes. They might get bless to realize that what they did are totally mistakes. If they get no chance to live, it means that they get no chance to repent his or her sins. It is not fair for them. Moreover, there is also humane side that is conflicted. Countries which apply capital punishment will shows to its younger generations that love is not on the top priority for them. This will affect the mentality forming process of young generations. Young generations will also relate this value in other sides of their life. They will tend to be less tolerant to themselves and others.

Further, I think it will be wiser for the country to guide the criminals to find his or her way back to normal life, with a full-self awareness that what they did in the past is something that they want to leave behind. The changing of mindset of the criminal is much more worthy than any other ways to stop the improving level of criminality in a country.

In conclusion, I think the application of capital punishment is not necessarily taken by a country. There are some other kinds of punishment that can be applied which not only making them get intimidated to repeat the same mistake but also keeping the country's humane side.