'blessed by uncle for being so alert' - The greatest achievement of my life

It is said that it's not the destination but the journey that is important. Only time can tell where our lives are destined towards but we must make sure that our journey is enjoyable; full of hardships but enjoyable nonetheless. Achievements are most of the times the part of our beautiful memories and mine too are no exceptions.

Even today, when I gaze outside the window of my compartment, the memories of the incident strike my brain and make me feel proud of what I had done few years back. Together with my friends, I used to celebrate the weekends, play cricket at the nearby ground, gossip all around. It was in front of my house, laid the outfield of my lovely cricket ground. Early Saturday morning, one day, during the course of our play, one of my companions was fielding at the deep. When he saw the ball coming towards him, he jumped to stop the boundary but couldn't. It was then that he pushed himself into an open well. What I saw was a real shock for me. I just couldn't move for a second. Then I hurriedly dashed towards the well. I had not much to think about as I wrapped myself with the rope attached to the pulley and jumped down the narrow well. My friend was deep down crying and whimpering. I grab him with my arms and shouted and screamed but no one seemed to hear. When I gave my sight to the sky, I found two of my companions, trying to pull the rope. Finally we were out of the hell. We had not much casualties but he had few cracks and wounds in his legs and arms. Meanwhile the surrounding terribly messed up. Lot of people gathered within few seconds. Everyone growled over the owner of that well. Some were trying to give comfort to the victim. However it was not the time for sympathy.

Without thinking much, I then took him to a nearby hospital. After letting him lay down the hospital bed, I hurriedly dialed his papa's number. It was answered after two rings. He sounded horribly nervous and anxious but I notified him that there was nothing to worry about. Doctor informed me that everything would be alright but he time and again warned us to be careful while playing. Meanwhile my friend's papa came and examined his son. Then we took him to home and allowed him to rest. All and all, I was blessed by uncle for being so alert and quick to save his son. However, more than that I was blessed by my own soul that I saved one's life.

Remembering that very day, today too my eyes moisten and before I could realize, I start crying. I really feel proud of my ability, bravery and most important of all my friendship that turned out to be the greatest achievement of my life.