IELTS:The best way to improve the quality of education is to increase salary

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

The best way to improve the quality of education is to increase teachers' salary.

As education is the core of modern society, people are deeply concern about the quality of education. While I accept that money-incentives can improve teacher's efficiency, I believe that there are many ways better than simply raising tutors' salaries.

On the one hand, increasing wages can attract better teachers and arouse more teachers' enthusiasm. From a pragmatic perspective, financial incentives can attract talented teachers. For example, in remote villages, salaries for teachers are low, which deters good candidates. That is why a talented graduate with a degree in education tend to find a job in big cities where usually promise a high salary. In addition, increasing wages for teachers enable them to focus on preparing lessons and academic researches. The teacher with a well-paid will never have to engage in other part-time job because of the low wage that cannot afford the housing mortgage. Thereby, the quality of teaching can be improved immediately.

However, I would argue that raising the wages is not the best choice. As the schools are always on the tight budget, it is more urgent for them to invest money in training teachers and to introduce modernized teaching equipment. To begin with, training teachers can enable students to receive better education more quickly and economically, compared to offer a huge pay to non-experienced graduates. The teaching quality can be enhanced greatly, if every teacher has got enough tainting. Moreover, investing in facilities, such as purchasing the chemical equipment and building the physics laboratory, would be better measures to improve quality of education, which is what a school really requires.

In conclusion, although providing teachers' with the huge wage is a good method to enhance the quality of education, training tutors and improving the school facilities would be better measures.

(293)