TOEFL - I believe people can get more knowledge from books

Some people argue that people can better gain knowledge from experience. They argue that people can gain precise knowledge based on real life. However, I believe people can get more knowledge from books. This is because books contain more information and knowledge and people can learn from past.

First of all, books can teach more information and knowledge to us. Compare real experience and a book. Ordinary people who are very busy earning money can not have much experience. They can merely experience how to earn money, make friends, and other short term experiences. Also, peoples` memory does not last forever. Whereas, numerous books can teach wide range of information and knowledge ranging from science to everyday life. Books contain personal memories, facts and experiences which could be applied to our life. Moreover, since books last for long time and they could be passed down to our generations, book`s benefit is undeniable. For instance, when I visited Japan, I did not know how they greet, and speak. Frankly speaking, I knew nothing about Japanese. I expected my experience in visiting other countries would help to communicate and socialize with Japanese but it was not case. Feeling frustrated, I read a book about Japanese culture and communications. Reading book for 2 days, I got to know how to greet and speak to Japanese. By learning from books, I learned how to communicate and traditions of Japanese life.

Secondly, books can teach life of past. Since books can be passed down to generations and can be copied, book would last for long time. Thus, books contain knowledge of past. These valuable knowledge can not be learned by experience. Thus, the only way to learn about knowledge of past is to read. Reading from past can teach life of our ancestors and how they coped with problems. These data would be valuable resource for us to learn and expand our knowledge. For instance, a book that everybody would know, Bible, is regarded as one of the oldest book that has ever been written. This book is important in every parts. This books teaches us about life of thousand years ago, and the book has provided numerous belief and knowledge to people. What this books teaches can not be experienced by any people or people of present since Jesus has deceased. Also, we can learn lessons from this book which could be practiced in our everyday life.

To sum up, books are the better way to way to obtain information because books contain more information, experiences and books can teach experience of past. In this regard, I believe book is the better way to obtain information than experience.