Is there anything we can do to stop crime?

Topic:

Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of crime. Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime while others feel little can be done to stop crime. What is your opinion?

Answer:

Soaring crime rate brings many people great fear for leaving their homes. Despite the negative attitude that little can be done to stop the crime, I believe there are several approaches to control it, although not completely eliminate it.

Education is an essential element in reducing the crime rate in the long run. According to the recent statistics reported by Institution of Social Security, the more widespread the education is, the less crimes are committed in a society or region. Therefore, the government should always guarantee the allocation in education or consider increasing it.

The inappropriate coverage of crime by the media also contributes to driving up the crime rate. For instance, the media tend to cover the bloody and violent scene in order to boost the ratings or circulations, which may arouse a potential criminal's motivation to commit a crime and instruct him how to achieve it. Consequently, the coverage of media should be checked carefully and restricted to some extend.

Apart from the education and the media, the instability of the society is another factor that directly leads to crime. For example, as a result of the economic crisis, numerous people become jobless or even homeless, which would possibly drew some of them into life of crime. So the third solution is to reduce the unemployment rate and improve social benefits so as to raise the stability of the society.

These are not easy steps to take; however, doing nothing is irresponsible and would give loose rein to criminals, which would result in more crimes. Although we can not be too optimistic that through these approaches the crime would be hundred-percent wiped out, I am convinced that it will be refrained from to a great extend.