IELTS: animal experiments & animal rights

Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, animal tests are extensively used for medicine testing and others fields. It is still unanswered whether the use of animals for human advantages is ethically valid. I believe that a limited amount of such experiments should be carried out.

On the one hand, there are three main reasons why animal activists are against animal tests. Firstly, the benefits of scientific research using animals do not justify the suffering and even death caused consequently. Secondly, animals do not deserve to be owned as pets or be treated as experimental subjects as they are innocent beings living on this planet in the same way as we do. Instead, they bear moral rights and they should be treated with respect by human beings. Finally, a technology or product verified by animal tests does not imply the safety on humans as different experimental subjects would lead to totally different results. Moreover, there are various alternatives to do researches without animal subjects. For example, computer simulation is one of such powerful measures that can offer the feasibility to carry out experiments effectively and repeatedly.

On the other hand, those experiment promoters may support animal tests for several reasons. Firstly, they argue that compared to animal rights, the development of medical services and social welfare should be given more importance. For example, each year, thousands of lives have been reported to be saved from fatal diseases by means of advanced medical technologies where animal tests were involved. Secondly, animal tests are extensively applied in most of the scientific researches and technology invention which even may considerably benefit those who are against those experiments. Finally, there are ongoing projects which endeavor to minimize the suffering that animals experience during the tests.

In summary, several measures should be used to guarantee that animal tests are morally acceptable. Otherwise, we would lose our sense of morality and sense of justice.