Alcoholism vs. other addiction - Compare and contrast

Compare and contrast alcoholism with another, more recent addiction.

There are indeed ample types of addiction. It is conspicuous that those addictions have their own disadvantages and perhaps a few advantages towards the addicts such as ecstasy. Thus, this essay will compare and contrast two different kinds of compulsion. In this case, the two are alcoholism and the addiction to possess a slim body, namely food phobia.

Alcoholism is an incessant compulsion to drink alcohol whereas food phobia is a tendency to avoid eating in order to have a slender body.

These two kinds of compulsion are of course equally hazardous to health. While alcoholism can cause ailments such as liver problems, food phobia leads to malnutrition. Both, eventually, result in death.

However, the two addictions differ in several points. In terms of the addicts, for instance, alcoholics are mostly men while food phobics are often women. Apparently, most men do not lie an interest in their looks as much as their female counterparts do. On the other hand, men focus on their pleasure which is usually related to alcohol.

Another difference of alcoholism and food phobia is connected to religion or beliefs. Obviously, alcoholism is considered sinful by all religions. Food phobia, nevertheless, is not reckoned immoral.

The most noticeable contrast is possibly the correlation between the addicts and addictions. Alcoholics and alcoholism have a positive correlation which means that alcoholics have a compulsion to drink alcohol. Unlike the aforementioned correlation, food phobia and its phobics have a negative correlation. In other words, food phobics have a compulsion to resist foods.

As a conclusion, although alcoholism and food phobia are different in several aspects, they are equally lethal and therefore, need to be refrained from cured .