'the aging tendency and burden on the society' - my ielts essay

In many countries, the proportion of elderly people is increasing. Do you think the positive effects of this trend outweigh its negative influence on society?

Due to the enhanced living conditions among the grey population, ageing has become a commonplace in the society. Against this backdrop, some people insist on the beneficial impacts it brings to society, whereas there are other voices against it. From my perspective, the increasing proportion of the aging population is detrimental to society to a large extent.

To begin with, the climbing percentage of the ageing population poses a threat to the labor force. This would jeopardize the comprehensive economic development in the long run. Such a trend will lead to a reduction in the number of eligible workers, which impairs the productivity in the workplace and exerts an adverse impact on the overall well-being of society, since growth in GDP is highly correlated with the increase in the number of eligible young employees.

Apart from this, the aging tendency lays a heavy burden on the government and society. Specifically, superannuation and healthcare service will be chiefly needed to guarantee the demands of the grey generation. From the perspective of the authority, an adjustment to the pension system will increase the burden of financial budgets. Furthermore, this burden would be shouldered by their children and future generations, since they need to take care of their elders.

Indisputably, the benefits of an increasing percentage of the elderly could also be justified. As distinct from the younger generation, pensioners are more experienced and disciplined. They tend to be realistic and down-to-earth, therefore they could impart their knowledge to young employees, thereby facilitating their work efficiency.

In brief, despite the potential benefits of constructing a harmonious life, the downsides of the aging population outweigh its merits since it slows down the economic growth and lays a heavy burden on society.