IELTS: Ageing population. What are the advantages and disadvantage

The number of older people is increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The effects of an ageing population are considerate. While I accept that population aging presents the positive effects, I believe that this trend's advantages are outweighed by the disadvantage.

On the one hand, the rise in the number of older people may have positive aspects. Firstly, aging population may propel progress in health technology, which brings benefits to personal-well-being. It will bring medical institutions more funds, as the need for health care is expected to increase. Consequently, advances in medical science will continuously extend human life spans. Furthermore, older population is less prone to violence, which is an important factor to social stability. For instance, compared with the elderly, youngsters tend to have more problems with drug or alcohol abuse. Instead, it is less likely that an old man tend to rob banks.

However, I would argue that the disadvantage of the aging population is vast. To begin with, aging population brings young people larger pressure. We have seen that many young adults in Japan will have to look after elderly people, with spending less time in working. People will grow used to accumulate savings for medical purpose. Apart from that, the older population will result in a greater tax burden on working adults because governments need more money to invest in hospital and nursing schools. From a social perspective, population aging will bankrupt the welfare state. As the population continue to age, the demand for the health care will grow considerably, which may cause the government deficits.

In conclusion, it seems that the potential disadvantages of population aging are more significant than the possible benefits because the older population will put pressure on the young and result in an increase in the government deficits.