The advertising world has an immense effect on the society - IELTS task 2

Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern advertisement has influenced people preferences. The power of massive advertising encourages the sales of goods. Although people have their own consideration to choose, it is agreed that good advertising has immense effect to persuade people.

Many companies have been produce similar goods this day. They want to sell as much as products in order to achieve higher income. One of the ways is they persuade people to create good advertisement. However, people have their own judgment, no matter how good the advertising is preferences of it.

Apart from this, commercial message has succeeded attracting people to purchase their products. The recent study conducted by CNN in 2007 has revealed good advertising will increase their sales by 30%. Especially, if they use the popular people like a football player or an artist. Coca cola and Pepsi companies should be taken as an example. Coca cola produces better drinking product that Pepsi does. However, Pepsi wins the consumer choice and sells more products than their rivals. This is because Pepsi has an invasive advertisement on all types of media. As it can be seen, people will be affected from that commercial message.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that advertisement has a significant effect on consumer choice. Interestingly, the consumer ignores their basic need when choosing that popular products. Where possible, invest more on advertising for the company which want to sell a lot of goods.