IELTS: Advertisements make us waste money, or make our life easier?

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days advertisements have taken a vital part of our life. All the famous brands and companies display their products by means of TV, radio, internet even on the roads through billboards where they become the focus of everyone's attention. Some people believe that advertisements force us to spend money unnecessarily, but others think they are essential to make our life easy. I agree with the second statement and support the advertisement agendas.

Firstly, advertisements save our time from browsing for the required products in the markets or websites. For example, without advertisements we need to go to the shops or browse internet even to find small things. However, after watching the advertisements of different companies, we can compare their products and prices and decide without wasting much time on searching.

Secondly, advertisements also inform about innovations and improved version of the stuff we are already using. For example, if we are using an old air conditioner that is consuming more time and extra electricity, through advertisements we will know that there is an upgraded version of air conditioner that consumes less energy and cools the air more quickly.

Moreover, companies also inform us about product promotions and sale offers by displaying in ads, and provide vouchers that save money. For example, they show the promotion codes on the billboards or display the vouchers on internet from where we can download them and use in the shop to save money.

In conclusion, I must say it is not advertisements that make us waste our money but our own lack of wisdom and cleverness. If we make budget and spend money only on required things, no advertisement or attractive sale offer can exploit our money.