Advertisements should not be directed towards little children but for adults

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Televisions today has not only become a source of entertainment but a daily routine for most of the families including children and so have the advertisements shown on it. These advertisements are meant for commercial purposes, few are meant for awareness but with the increased business trend they have started targeting the young children too through toys companies. This should be stopped because kids of little age become stubborn and demanding seeing these attractive endorsements.

Recently my nephew started crying for a toy he saw in one of the ads on TV and unwillingly my sister had to buy an expensive toy for him. He becomes too persistent for purchasing the toys shown in channels every time his parents go to market. This made me realize that why young kids are becoming targets for the commercial companies and why they advertise on cartoon channels or other kid channels. Instead of showing fairy tales, publicity of goods has overwhelmed the television now. Thus I believe that advertisements should be meant for adults only and not for children. They will demand for what they see as they are highly influenced by the creative channels like POGO, cartoon network and want to emulate that.

Such kind of ads comes up showing other small kids and show how a small kid asked his parents to get something and how he is happy . The kids tend to imitate them and this has become a problem for low income families.

In a nutshell, I would say that advertisements should not be directed towards little children but for adults. The kids should be able to see their cartoons without any commercialization though. This is for their entertainment but not to attract them as customers.