The advantages of globalization are still superior to disadvantages?

Topic: even though globalization affects the world's economics in a very positive way, its negative side should not be forgotten. Discuss.

Some people say that the world now is flat instead of spherical. This means the process of globalization is taking place, which gradually removes political and geographical barriers and connects nations and people all around the world all together. Above all other fields, economy is under the influence of globalization most. In addition to positive effects that globalization is bringing, it also has negative side we can't push aside.

To begin with, globalization brings in so many advantages that nobody can deny. Firstly, the strength of nations is brought into play via globalization. Every country in every part of the world has its own economic power. Consequently, globalization forces nations to focus more on their strong fields to compete effectively with each other. In particular, India is considered the most powerful Silicon Valley with the forces of leading information technology engineers in the world at present. Thanks to globalization, other nations can buy and apply the newest technology of India or hire the best human resources there. As a result, India gets profits of thousands billion dollars a year. Secondly, the activities of import and export between nations are much easier than ever before. For instance, after joining WTO, Vietnam has been carrying out opening policies such as reducing tariffs on import and export commodities, attracting investment or removing tax barriers. Thus, customers can use foreign high quality products even though they are in Vietnam. In a word, the world economy is gaining a lot of positive effects of globalizations. However, the process of globalization brings both pros and cons.

As mentioned above, when the position of nations' strength are called into play in the global market, a severe competitive market is simultaneously created. The improvement of each nation is different, so the developed countries are much more advantageous than under-developed and developing countries in the world market. Thus, the poor nations can't compete equally to the rich ones, which have advanced technology and quality working staffs. For example, although Vietnam exports catfish to America market, these products are called "basa fish" instead of catfish with the reason of being afraid of confusing Vietnamese fish and domestic fish in the US. This results to remarkable decreasing profits for Vietnamese exporters.

Last but not least, due to the different abilities of competition, the developed countries always lead the market which makes them, having been rich, now be richer day by day. On the other hand, the poor may be getting richer, but the rich are getting richer at even much faster rate. Eventually, the gap between the poor and the rich is getting much wider. For example, although globalization has been taking place for decades, the under-developed countries in some places of Africa are still full of poverty and hunger while the US and other European countries are always the leaders of the market for years.

In conclusion, although globalization brings both advantages and disadvantages, the advantages are still superior to disadvantages. Thanks to globalization, the world economy is boosting, which bring benefits to all nations in spite of the different rate of influence.