The Advantages and Disadvantages of Taught Foreign Language to Children at Primary School

Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In globalization era, some education specialists assume that children should begin to learn language from other different countries in primary school rather than secondary school. While it has drawback such an increasing their tension during school, I would argue that it has more benefits.

In primary school, children will start to grasp newest concepts. They not only learning core knowledge like mathematics or natural sciences, but also discover various soft skills. Therefore, taught them foreign language could make them burden. As a result, they just accept the courses generally in every major, without preserving detailed one. In this stage, study foreign language will waste their time and delay their origin accomplishment.

On the other hands, there is no doubt that study foreign language in the primary school has a lot advantages. Firstly, early learners tend to less anxious, more spontaneous, and more responsive to either sounds or rhythms. Since study new foreign languages is easily with voices, it will be more effective to develop in early. Also, many researchers have not been able to conclude the presence of a critical age, which mean young children learn languages differently from the older. Finally, the primary curriculum provides more opportunities which can be exploited for language learning, than the secondary. Therefore, teacher could to determine the most precious method easily in this stage.

To sum up, although some people believe that children will grow better when they study foreign language in secondary school, I would argue that taught offshore speeches to them in primary is an impressive step which have more positive effects for their future. However, an attractive arrangement and good curriculum must be prepared to improve it.