TOEFL Essay: Advantages and disadvantages of sports.

Hi All,

Please check my essay and suggest me about length of essay.

Some young children spend a great amount of their time practicing sports. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Who does not like sports? Everyone likes to play. Sport should be a part of everyone's life. Sports help you to stay healthy. Experts suggested that, we all should play or do exercise daily at least for half an hour to stay healthy. I think that children should also spend some time on sports but not all. Many young children spend their more time on sports only which is not good for them. All young children should participate in all activities equally and also learn to balance their routine.

First, starting with advantages of sports, playing sports makes us physically and mentally strong. It keeps us active, fit and healthy. Teamwork is the most important advantage of playing sports which can help us in our professional life. Playing is also fun and part of an entertainment. Playing sports increases our stamina and helps us in dealing with stress. All young children should play at least one sport. They should also learn to maintain their routine with sports which will help them to be disciplined in their life.

On the other hand, excess playing can be a disadvantage of sports. This will keep children away from all other activities like social gatherings, community activities, picnics and many others. This can also have a bad effect on their studies. Sometimes children might have to face physical injuries. I remember, our neighbor's young child he was a very good Ice Hockey player. He used to play a lot and one day he met with an accident and now he cannot even walk. All treatments tried but didn't work. So, sometimes we may have to face such injuries which cannot be treated.

Finally, if we all maintain our routine then we can keep ourselves away from all disadvantages. I believe that, playing sports play a vital role in everyone's lives so not only young children but we all should spend some amount of time in playing.

Thanks,

Ana.