I want to be able to get as much help as possible in my English class.

Writing Problem #1

Since I was a child, I have always loved the sound of music. When I think about my high school and my college career, I have always wanted to sing. Even though my experiences with high school seemed to be taught at an elementary level and college so high and qualified, I still learned a lot pertaining to music. For example, my time with my choir teacher from high school, Mr. Simmons teaches a lot different from my music teacher in college Dr. McIntire. Despite the fact that both teachers love music sincerely, they both contained different types repertoire of music that we learned, their toleration from the students and learning expectations.

I still remember to this day the types of music that Mr. Simmons taught my choir at Central High School. The compositions that we learned in my class at that time, was very simple music. We learned music that was off of musicals, themes of shows and from the seventies. We often would listen to the music on a recorded sound track. Mr. Simmons gave us the opportunity to pick out some of the songs we would sing from that year, and he would pick the other half. Mr. Simmons didn't give us choir music to keep, he would give us the music for that day then take it up when ever we were done. During concerts he would have students doing gesture to the songs to make them more entertaining.

When I finally reached the college level of music, I learned quickly that the material was a lot different from high school. The types of music that Dr. McIntire is teaching me at Reinhardt College are harder repertoires of music. We work on materials that are from different languages, emotions, classical periods and rapidness. He has a tendency of putting the material that is practiced for that day on the board, so we could put our music in order. The material that is on the board we follow in that order. When ever Dr. McIntire has new music for us to sing, he always put it in the slot where our notebooks are located at.

Secondly, when it came to the toleration level in the class room setting, Mr. Simmons let a lot of things go. I suppose that he let a lot of things go in the class room because of the immaturity level of the students, and at times he was just too nice. We didn't get much accomplished in his music class for the reason that the majority of students were disrespectful, always argumentative and some were there just to sit and not cooperate. I notice in the class room setting, when we supposed to been practicing at times people would be talking and sometimes not even listening. At times, Mr. Simmons would have to constantly tell students to stop talking, stop chewing gum or stop eating. So that means that we had to stop singing because students were doing irrational things. That really hurt the students that were in the class really trying to learn something new. When we would practice songs we would always start from the begging and go to the end even though we made mistakes. Mr. Simmons would wait till were done then try to fix the errors buy asking us what we believe that we did wrong.

On the other hand, when I reached the college level of choir with Dr. McIntire, he does not tolerate foolishness, disrespect or wasting time. I remember the first day in choir with Dr McIntire, he reminded the class this is not high school, and everyday we're striving to accomplish something new. We get more achieved in his class because each person wants to be there. When we are practicing he does not tolerate anyone talking while he is trying to help a specific group. Dr. McIntire does not allow food, drink or gum chewing in his class room. He requires us to bring our cooperation and team work. Dr. McIntire allows us to bring water to keep our vocals untarnished.

Furthermore, when it came to Mr. Simmons learning expectations, he wanted us to be able to have fun and be cooperative. During class, he would pass out the materials that were singing for that day. Since the majority of our class didn't know how to read music, he expected the class to follow along with the recorded versions of the songs. He didn't expect for us to practice our music out side of class but to sing while we were practicing. The main thing that Mr. Simmons expected out of the choir was for the students to be productive and have fun.

Even though both teachers have a close relationship when it comes to having fun and being productive, Dr. McIntire still expects a lot more out of our choir. In his class you are expected to know how to read music. He expects every student to be early to choir. He always quotes that "early is on time and on time is late." Dr. McIntire also wants us to be able to practice repertoire out side of class. In addition to the quote about being on time, he also quotes that "practice doesn't make perfect but perfect practice makes perfect, so we will never be perfect." When working with a professional like Dr. McIntire, the expectation to becoming successful takes a lot of dedication and preparation.

Finally, when comparing Mr. Simmons to Dr. McIntire, this further lets me know that they both contained different types of repertoire that we learned, their toleration from the students were handled in different ways and their learning expectations of the students were at dissimilar levels. So I learned that the maturity level, the cooperation, and the strength of mind of the students determine the ability to achieve the goals of the teachers.