Nowadays young children are using mobile phones

Nowadays young children are using mobile phones. Some people think it is a positive development, while others think it's a negative one. Discuss. What is your opinion?

Like video game consoles, cell phones are increasingly used by children nowadays. It had become a custom that every children need to have a mobile phone as soon as they know how to operate it. When some people see this as a positive development, others say it is not bringing any good to the children for several reasons. It will be discussed in the same order.

As parents worry a lot, after hearing many horrible stories with regard to the safety of a child at schools, they consider mobile phones as a safety agent. At the time of insecurity a child would be able to contact his/her parents at the push of a button. Parents need not worry about their children's whereabouts anymore.

Having said all these positive things, it is not that cell phones are not having any negative aspects. Teachers are complaining that a child who has a cell phone is not concentrating well on their studies. They check their mobile phones every now and then for new messages and further more they do not hesitate to pick up a call in their classrooms and thus distract the whole class.

The traffic accidents has increased considerably when students start using mobile phones as they had been typing or talking on the cell phone while they were driving. Certain incidents like children using mobile phones to bully other children have also become a great problem to the society. As many young people started using mobile phone, it has become a status symbol, hence they demand specific models which are mostly higher in price in order to maintain their image among their friends.

In conclusion, except a few advantages of a mobile phone, there are several drawbacks associated with it; hence it is not advisable for children unless they are ready to take the complete responsibility of it. Parents should also emphasis the importance of a cell phone and not to treat them as a status symbol. Schools should educate their pupils on cell phone usage inside class rooms.