IELTS: Some workers are allowed to work at home - Positive or Negative?

Topic: In recent years, there are increasing in the number of organizations, some workers are allowed to work at home partial of week. Do you think it is a positive development or negative development for individuals and society?

In modern society, instead of working at office 8hours per day and 6 days per week, the employment are able to work partly at home. I would argue that this is a significantly positive development for individuals and society because some reasons.

Firstly, it is obvious that home working can help people who live so far from office not have to commute to work. As a result, they do not have to face with congestion, traffic jams and feel stress before arriving offices. It also make women, especially mothers, have more time to take care of their families so that children can be looked after more carefully.

Moreover, at home, people are not under pressure of the appearance of supervisors as long as the employers do not exercise too much control over their staff about time, performance or attitude. It brings a comfortable feeling to both of them and eventually not only improve productivity but also enhance relationship between them.

In addition, working at home would prevent congestion and traffic jams because it can help to reduce the degree of transportation, especially in peak hours. People would not have to live in overcrowding cities due to going to work regularly so that it can help reduce the pressure in cities infrastructure.

However, the lack of social access may be caused and lead to the social isolation. To solve this issue, activities such as taking part in clubs or gatherings is a effective approach which helps people socialize and reduce stress after high- pressure working hours.

To conclude, benefits of working at home predominates its drawbacks and it is a positive trends in modern society.