IELTS: work on a presentation right away or wait until you have a good idea.

When you are assigned an important presentation for work or school, you prefer to work on it right away so that you can work on it a little bit every day, or wait until you have a good idea about the presentation?

We are all familiar with the procrastination phenomenon which refers to the act of putting off important tasks to a later time. While I accept that both handing off a stressful task of making presentation until a further day may help people to cope with the anxiety, I believe that working on the task little by little would be a better measure.

We have seen that delaying the task until the last day may cause many problems. Form a psychological perspective, procrastination in presentation may result in stress and a sense of guilt. We would always be absent-minded and fearing that we cannot fulfill the task when we delay the task over and over again and these feelings combined may promote further procrastination. Therefore, we may be unable to fulfill the task by the due day. Furthermore, the poor performance is often linked to making presentation with procrastination phenomenon where students begin to apply themselves to a task immediately before deadline, with bad results due to lots of careless mistakes.

On the other hand, a good presentation normally requires plenty of preparation. For example, a MBA candidate would less likely to make an excellent presentation related to the Banking industry, if he or she does not conduct intense research on the Basel Capital Accord. In order to deliver a good outcome, students require lots of time to write a well-organized speech and create effective PowerPoint slides. In addition, True success comes from the gradual accumulation of efforts, including gathering experience and searching for information. We have seen that every tomorrow we may find out mistakes we made yesterday. Thereby, we can summarize problems, continue to improve presentation skills and produce a better result. Most importantly, simply a little bit every day, we are able to fulfill the task without haste and panic because we can establish a balance between making a presentation and hanging out with others.

In conclusion, it seems that presentation should be prepared as soon as possible, and that it would be less trouble to work on it immediately because little by little, we are able to prepare well, to accumulate more experience and make a presentation even easier.