TOEFL-Work with a group of people on a team or to work independently

Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

In modern society, people need to work in order to achieve their goals. An individual, who possess a higher level of working abilities, has a greater chance to success. The working abilities can be classified into two types. The first type consists of the skills to work independently, and second one involves the abilities to work with a group of people on a team. I reckon that the latter type is more crucial than the former type because of two reasons. First, cooperation is common in the world. Second, cooperation is more likely to accomplish great achievements compared to working along.

With the advent of technological advances, globalization is the major trend in contemporary society, which indicates that collaboration is widespread and inevitable. Therefore, it is much more critical for everyone to be able to work with others than to work as one person. Many modern citizens now work in a company or an organization. Clearly, they must cooperate with others for some degrees. Although others, such as some farmers and writers, may work along, they still need to purchase their products or ask for assistance sometimes. In other words, they still need to collaborate with others.

Moreover, for some difficult tasks, collaboration is the only way to tackle them. This phenomenon further increases the significance of cooperation. For example, it is impossible for one worker can construct a magnificent skyscraper along. To build a skyscraper, it is necessary to gather a group of workers. Similarly, it is impossible to protect a country only by one solider. To maintain the security of one country, it is necessary to assemble an army. It seems that only a few astronauts, such as Armstrong, are capable of walking on the moon. No doubt that Armstrong has strong personal abilities. Nevertheless, no one can deny the fact that he could walk on the moon because of the collaboration of many people, such as scientists, engineers and astronomers.

In a nutshell, since collaboration is not rare, and is the only way to overcome some challenges. The abilities of working as a team are of great importance.