WOMEN ARE THE STRONGER SEX; Persuasive Writing

Are we women really the stronger sex? I leave this uncertainty for you, my readers to decide. In this essay I intend to give you the strengths of women in contrast to the strengths of men. And your calculations would have thus brought you to the amazing yet definite fact, that we women really are the stronger sex.

Come with me into the household of a young woman whose beauty would have been deemed outstanding if the lines of worry and stress had been removed. She stretches her work-worn hands up to the cupboard where nails driven by her own strength, were added to keep the door on its hinges. A glint of disappointment engulfs her eyes as she reaches only to find it empty. Two pairs of small hands tug lightly at her dress and she looks down into their hungry, questioning eyes. The corners of her mouth turn slightly upwards as she hushes and comforts her sons. She knows what she must do. And with strength and determination in her voice, she whispers, "Don't worry my darlings. Mommy will provide."

Today in society it is habitual to see us women having to succumb to the tasks of being both the man and woman of the house, both the bread winner and the home manager. And with little to no help from the men who have directed their claims of superior strength to the muscles of their legs as they walk quickly out our lives. How much strength must men definitely posses to accumulate the courage to walk out their families, leaving the women to struggle on their own. How much strength it must take for men to clutch the dollars in their pockets, being misers indeed! As their children go hungry, as their wives work numerous jobs and tiring hours just to put a meager meal on the table.

In the bible, it can be clearly understood that God intended for men to be the head of the home, they were made to be leaders in their families and society. I do not doubt this fact, I dare not, but must we the women, sit around with folded arms and crossed legs awaiting this unknown adrenaline that will push men to take up their rightful responsibility? I say not! Thus our resolution, though forced upon us, was to take a stand, to accept neglected authority...to be the stronger sex.

Women have indeed proven themselves worthy of the title. All through the lines of history, women have refused to accept minority, they have challenged the men to even higher heights. They have become part of the U.S Navy, soldiers in the army, cops, carpenters, firefighters, electricians, engineers, lawyers and even presidents. These are the numerous jobs the world boldly declared only men were capable of. Yet we women, as weak as they say we are, have excelled. We have silently done our expected duties through out the ages. We have endured the huge tribulation of child labor, giving birth to these same men who will never know the pain. It is with great disgust that I find men today so eager to pull us down to minority, the barren pit of limitations.

I thus conclude to say that the assumption of men being somewhat stronger than women is simply a feeble slander. We are the ones who put more effort into it; we go through the struggles and come out as gold out of fire. And we, the women, whether the world accepts it or not, are THE STRONGER SEX.