Internet provides massive amount of uncensored information which may includes antisocial materials

The widespread use of the Internet has brought many problems. What do you think are the main problems associated with the use of the web? What solutions can you suggest?

Over the last century, the blooming development of Internet has changed extensively and intensively numerous aspects of our lives. However, not all of these changes bring benefits to human beings. In fact, some of them are causing great concern among the society.

One of the most obvious problems is that Internet provides massive amount of uncensored information which may includes antisocial or illegal materials such as political propaganda, pornography or racism. Therefore, it could be easily become the useful tool for the guerrillas or aggressive external forces to deteriorate the national sovereignty and interfere with other countries's internal affair. For instance, some foreign websites may publish the fake data to ignite the conflicts between different ethnic groups or support the independence of one territory in the country. In another way, they could corrupt the moral perspective and ethical values of people by producing and publishing various kind of sex information. This could result in escalating rate of crime with prostitution, rape or even murder.

Another problem is the cultural invasion. Internet helps pushing the dominant culture to the mass and spreading it even further while homogenizing the inferior culture. Internet is overwhelmed by English so it obviously advocates English culture or more generally the western culture. Nowadays, when coming to many metropolis in Asia, it is not so difficult for you to see teenagers wearing Adidas, eating KFC and dancing hip-hop. There is a strong possibility that in the foreseeable future, there is nothing called "Culture diversity". This is probably synonymous with the extinction of many nations because culture is the core value of a society.

To tackle this problem, I think the most obvious solution is for the governments to regulate the operation of Internet. On the one hand, they could develop cutting-edge technologies to censor information and eradicate unsuitable content. This could be accomplished by setting firewalls, inventing filtering software or innovating Internet management system. On the other hand, they should complete the legal system and strengthen the law enforcement A perfect set of measures that fit with the crime will act as an effective deterrent against any criminal who has the tendency to destroy the healthiness of Internet. Another solution is education. Young generation who has not matured yet should participate in educational programs about the trustworthiness of Internet information, helping them to distinguish good from bad, truth from lies. These programs are expected to equipped the youth useful knowledge so that they can be strong and firm in front of the seduction or penetration of any controversial ideology.

To conclude, I admit that there are numerous acute problem accompanied with the widespread use of Internet. Therefore, to take full advantages of Internet's benefits and at the same time minimize its negative impacts, we should construct and develop protection technologies as well as enhance the citizen's awareness by education.