TOEFL- Violent Media

According to Longman dictionary, the word media means" all the organizations, such as television, radio, and newspapers that provide news and information for the public". Actually media has strong effect in our life; short-term and long-term. People welcome the good effect of media in our life which represented by changing a bad habit to the better or improving a skill according to reading a beneficial article that impact us. However, media has strong bad side effect in people especially children. Media affects our children to become less sensitive to the pain of others at the same time become more aggressive towards others.

Media affect children's personalities to become less sensitive to the suffering of others. Especially, playing games over computer and Internet or watching violent movies via television lead children to be less sensitive. For Instance, children fond in playing war games those ask them to kill a lot of people to be the leader or the king and win the game. Accordingly, you will find them point their guns left and right and shoot around to collect the highest rate of corpse to win the game. If we think deeply of this bloody scene, we will find by this way it prepare them to become cold-hearted towards their victims. Consequently, children become less sensitive toward his sister or brother when he plays with them. Furthermore, he begins getting used to see bloody scenes day by day that may let to a disaster in the future.

Besides, media can provoke children to be more aggressive or hostile towards others. A lot of researches have asserted that children who watch media violence are likely to have increased feelings of offensive and have decreased feelings of sympathy. Many crimes that have committed by children or teenage caused by their willing to imitate to what they have watched in movies or played in games. For example, Michael Carneal, from Kentucky, who in 1997 shot and killed three of his classmates. He was one of war games fanatic. According to the researches also, children after their playing or watching, they like to imitate this at home with their family or at school with their friends that most of the time end to a catastrophe.

To sum up, media influence children's behavior strongly that result in becoming less sensitive and aggressive. In my opinion, media has a strong impact on children so we have to use it properly to raise our children to be successful people in future not to destroy them. Moreover, Children are a valuable thing we could have in this life so we have to pay more attention to what they watch.