How the Vietnamese invasion of Cambodia affected the United States-feedback

Write about how the Vietnamese invasion of Cambodia affected the United States.

On December 25, 1978: about 150,000 Vietnamese troops invaded Cambodia. This started a war between Cambodia and Vietnam. When citizens of the United States found out about this, many felt very strongly about this. Even though the United States was not as directly involved in the Cambodian-Vietnamese War as Vietnam and Cambodia, the war still had a big effect on them.

One of the people whom the Cambodian-Vietnamese War affected the most was Richard Nixon. On April 30th, 1970, Nixon announced on live television that American military troops and the South Vietnamese People's Army were going to invade Cambodia. The controversy about Richard Nixon started when Americans found out that Nixon had known about the bombings for months. Many supporters of Nixon turned against him when they found out that he had been hiding something from them. Many members of Congress were also upset at Nixon. They thought that he was making the war worse. As a result, they made a lot of new rules about what the president could and could not do. One of these rules that they made was called the War Powers Act. This act states that the president cannot start wars without official declaration. Even after the Act was passed, Nixon still continued the war. This lead to more anger and frustration.

The Vietnamese invasion of Cambodia also affected people's actions and behavior. One thing that people did to express their views on the war was to start anti-war protests. Many of these protests occurred at colleges. One of the most famous protests took place at Kent State University. Multiple people were killed during these protests. After the shootings at Kent State University, students from all over the country started to protest the shootings and the Vietnamese invasion of Cambodia. Another famous protest took place a few weeks after the shootings at Kent State University. Students at the University of Washington decided to take a stand against the shootings and the Vietnamese invasion of Cambodia by talking to crowds about why the invasion and the shootings were wrong. However, this just caused more violence, and students at other schools, such as Jackson state college, were killed because of more protests.

Finally, many military families and even the military itself was affected by the military draft. During the Vietnam War, there was a mandatory draft. Many men who were able to fight were required to report for duty. They were taken away from their families to go halfway across the world to risk their lives. Even though the draft was hard on families, good things did come out of it. Citizens of the United States questioned the ethics of the draft and decided to come together to protest it. By doing this, they started to agree with each other and learned to work together.