Vice-President of Phi Theta Kappa; SERVE the underserved/Experiences

QS: Explain my experiences with underserved communities, community-based work, leadership roles, and commitment to working with the urban underserved. (500 words)

first of all would the above question be the same as this qs: How have your experiences prepared you for the challenges of a medical practice in an underserved area?

Initially, I sharpened my leadership skills while working with community leaders as vice-president of Phi Theta Kappa. From recruiting scholars to initiating car washes, I learn how to be a leader who leads by examples. I make a point to find a personal connection and purpose of my actions. For instance, when I first organized a Blood Drive in Austin, I never thought that this would have a great impact on me such that I continue to donate blood bimonthly to this day. As one with my community, I see this response as my connection with the anonymous recipient. My motivation to donating also changed as I gain more insights into the medical field. As a previous emergency room volunteer and a compassionate student, I've learned the importance of blood transfusions and how often it can save lives.

My progressive commitments for underserved areas were reinforced when I joined Biology Scholars Program (BSP). Serving in a program that seeks to increase the number of underrepresented students in medicine, I gained invaluable convictions to give back to my community. BSP is the tight-knit family in a huge university that taught me the skills to advocating for the underprivileged communities. At the same time, I was actively involved in programs run by the First Presbyterian Church. They provided me with a structure to connect to the poor areas of Oakland and Berkeley. Through the global organization with World Vision, I participate in charity work to support the Dalit (untouchable) people of India, make first-aid kits for the villages in Uganda and hike at Hope Walks yearly to support HIV prevention.

Finally, in response to end homelessness, my husband and I donate 100 pounds of fresh grocery annually to the Berkeley Home and Housing Project. I recognize the difficulty in solving theproblem of hunger and homelessness. So in the community that I have build in the Soup Kitchen, I know that laughter goes a long way. While I cook meals and wipe down the tables of the homeless, I try to develop friendships and provide a positive support. Listening to their stories and witnessing the reality of many lives inspires me and teach me the skills to connect with various people in my community. This experience also led me to a similar project at the Alameda Food Bank. Here, I collect donated goods, sort and bag groceries as they come through an assembly line. Since most volunteers there were seniors, some tasks were indeed challenging for them. So my assistance to offload heavy boxes meant a great deal to the seniors. More importantly, the opportunity to spark inter-generational dialogue was very fulfilling.

The times I mentored underprivileged youths, built homes for Habitat for Humanity, or cooked for the homeless, became the personal encounters that gave me reverence to treat each person with dignity. Regardless of how big or small my contribution was or the impact I can make, I still felt like I was making a difference. Within such limited resource settings, I learned to maintain a positive attitude and flexibility in decision-making. Serving the vulnerable community proves to be a rewarding career that affords me with a lifetime of leadership and learning. It was enough to make me eager to come back each week, excited at the prospect of helping the vulnerable.