Ielts task II : Vegetarianism vs meat-containing diets.

Topic: Human beings do not need to eat meat products in order to maintain a good health because they can get all their needs from meatless products and meatless substitutes. A vegetarian diet is as healthy as a diet containing meat. Argue for or against the opinion above.

It is undeniable that at present time, a good health can be maintained without consuming meat products. In clarifying, people can fulfill all their needs by means of meatless foods. Many scientists hold an opinion that when it comes to vegetarianism, it can be considered as a healthy diet. However, others tend to think that meat products can be beneficial when it comes to avoiding monotonous type of diet. To the best of my opinion, it is more practical which is worthy of being paid attention, and it will be known within the scope of my essay.

For a variety of reasons many people consider vegetarianism as a harmful trend. Firstly, people claim that vegetarians do not eat a balanced diet. As human organism is in need of organic food as well. Secondly, in many cultures, meat is the paramount ingredient in traditional meals. "Kebab", for instance, is one of the traditional foods of Uzbekistan, which consists of only meat. Finally, meat-eaters argue that animals are below humans in the food chain.

On the other hand, there are some benefits of a meatless diet that can easily overwhelm its potential pitfalls. A majority of people choose vegetarian diet for moral and health reasons. It can reduce the risk of disease like cancer. Therefore, people claim that it is unnecessary to kill animals when it comes to getting food.

Given these evidences, it can be clearly said that both vegetarian and meat-containing diets are to be kept when it comes to maintaining a good and stable health.