It is on vegetarianism? - Life, Death, and Vegetarian School Lunches

Prompt: Your cafeteria staff has decided to offer students only vegetarian meals. A vegetarian meal does not include meat, but it may include fruit, bread, cereal, vegetables, etc. Scientists want to see how a vegetarian diet affects growing teenagers. Do you think this is a good or bad idea? Write a persuasive letter to your school board stating your opinion and explaining why you feel this way. Be sure to supply convincing reasons and/or examples.

So I think it's kind of bad and immature sounding... what do you think?

(Sorry it's a bit long)

Come at me with anything you got.

Criticize everything.

(I didn't exactly finish the conclusion, and I realize there isn't very good structure.)

Life, Death, and Vegetarian School Lunches

VEGETABLE MURDER! VEGETABLE MURDER! Now that that got your attention, no, I don't think that vegetarian meals should be the only thing offered in the cafeteria (though obviously not for such a stupid reason as vegetable murder because vegetables don't feel anything). First of all, unless eating in the cafeteria now means that we are encompassed by the rules of some occult religion that worships legumes (albeit by eating them...) we should have a choice as to what we want to eat. Sure, we could always pack lunch, but still meat-eaters shouldn't be discriminated against. Also, we never agreed to be the subjects of your little experiment on the developing adolescent body and vegetarianism. And besides, if we don't eat killed animals that are dead already, what's to become of them? Seems like they died in vain. What a waste.

Let me start off by saying that I don't object to you if you choose to be a vegetarian. In terms of nutrition, eating only plants is as good as or even better than being omnivorous (or carnivorous...). However, what wouldn't be fair is the fact that only vegetarian selections would be offered. The school cafeteria is aimed for students to eat from, and many students do eat from the school cafeteria. What would happen if you dismiss the meat selections from the school cafeteria? Very bad things would happen to the students. How about we simplify this with an example: say we have a rather deadly strain of bacteria eking out a bare existence on the grimy and desolate surface of a hand. Their mere survival is a miracle to behold. But oh heavens! Here comes some water and some soap. The hand is removed from the bacteria and the bacteria are saddened by this new development. The bacteria become very very sad and their sadness transmogrifies into anger and they starts to grow and mutate in strange and profound ways and a pandemic takes over planet Earth. Finally the bacteria overtake humans as top of the food chain.

Okay, so maybe all that about the bacteria after the part where they become saddened isn't very plausible (in both humans and bacteria). And maybe that wasn't the best of metaphors. Still, meat-eaters should be treated with respect.

Alright, you might say to just go pack your own lunch. That's not really an answer. Yes, we could, but that still doesn't give you the right to treat meat-eaters as inferior people, not worthy of a simple cafeteria lunch choice. Some students aren't even able to bring food from home, for whatever personal problem they suffer.

Another little issue lies in how we are your guinea pigs to carry out this experiment on. As was stated, we are growing adolescents... who knows what kind of lasting effects this diet change might bring upon us? A quick glance at some nutritional facts and information shows that a vegetarian way of eating can allows one to intake just as many vitamins and minerals as would the meat-filled way of eating; however, this is an experiment, who knows what might happen? If you scientists want to run an experiment, do it properly please. Make sure all of your subjects are in agreement to being experimented on before making a move.

Furthermore, serving vegetarian food wastes dead animals. Where before the usual meat served in the cafeteria gets devoured by hungry adolescents, now the hungry adolescents are nibbling on carrots. Where does all that uneaten cow and pig and chicken and fish meat go? Nowhere. Probably the dumpster. The meat industry will continue to slaughter and package the same amount of meat as ever because it doesn't care whether or not people eat the meat, unless for some reason a mass boycott of meat ensues (highly unlikely). Think of those animals' lives wasted, when you could've eaten them to fuel your body.

You could say that this way eating more meat wastes the lives of plants, too, but I don't exactly think that the lives of plants and animals are worth the same thing... and also, vegetables take less time and materials to grow and nurture to a properly edible stage.

To conclude, I don't recommend for vegetarian lunches to be the only thing offered at the school cafeteria as an experiment on our growth. We should be allowed to have free will in choosing what to lunch on, in the preparation of this experiment we should've actually been consulted on our opinion of our involvement in it, and changing all lunch selections into vegetarian selections wastes good meat.