Is using humor the best way to approach difficult situations and problems? SAT October 2009

Please grade my essay ou of 12 as harash as possible and give me some feedbacks.

Prompt 1:

Think carefully about the issue presented in the following excerpt and the assignment below.

Both in society and in our own lives, today's problems are serious and require serious solutions. Increasingly, however, people are taught to laugh at things that aren't usually funny and to cope with difficult situations by using humor. They are even advised to surround themselves with funny people. There is strong evidence that laughter can actually improve health and help fight disease.

Adapted from Marshall Brain, How Laughter Works

Assignment:

Is using humor the best way to approach difficult situations and problems?

Plan and write an essay in which you develop your point of view on this issue. Support your position with reasoning and examples taken from your reading, studies, experience, or observations.

Essay :

Since the dawn of time, humans were used to resist the pressure and to cope with sticky situations, using jokes, humour and jacular comments. It's seems that humour is straightforward, deep and meaningful enough to solve problems regarding its witty and metaphoric style. Martial, the early Roman poet, epigrams and Moliére's plays give us solid evidences from history and comedy art about how effective humour is.

Martial (40 A.D- 104 A.D) was a well-versed Roman poet. He introduced his wry epigrams to point to social and cultural issues. Roma was a thriving empire at that time. But doctors used primitive , hostile and inconsistent practices to deal with patients' health problems. Their inexperience and ignorance suggest that bleeding a patient would relive his pain. Their harash practices lead sometimes to an agonizing. Regarding all this atrocities in the field of medicine, Martial addressed a jovial epigram to a doctor to make people as well as Roman athorities aware of this mess. He said «You sir used to be a doctor, but now you are a murderer». Romans understood the paradox. His wry and funny epigrams, ulitimetly, pushed Emperor to start deep reforms in laws, health practices and educational system.

Moliére's comedy play 'The School Of Wives' point to cultural disease in Europe during the 17th century. His play staged in Paris, made all people from all social stratas laughing-out-loud, while watching Arnolphe's attitude toward the opposite sex. In fact, he feared the well-educated, the cultivated and the liberatrice women. He prefer to marry a stupid woman because he thought that a woman should idiot in order to be totally contoled, manupilated and even enslaved by man. The play reveals a lot about the society that need a revolution of minds. He addresed seriously to the majority of men in France and Europe as well. His comedy put it on the track to tighten the gap between the two genders and to establish a liberal view toward women.

In conclusion, I reckon that humour is effective and sometimes vital to address the wrongs, espicially when it comes to wide-spread social and cultural dielemmas.