IELTS Being a volunteer in the community is not rare among high school students

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Being a volunteer in the community is not rare among high school students. It is recommended by some experts that it should be a mandatory part of the high school curriculum. There has been much discussion as to the issue.

The first argument in its favor is that unpaid community service can be beneficial to high school students. It can foster their sense of responsibility for the society where they live and teach them to be a caring and loving person. When the students make a contribution and see how they can make a difference to their neighborhood, they can accomplish a sense of fulfillment as well.

Another argument the supporters give is that the recommendation matches the purpose of education. Education should not just focus on the acquisition of knowledge from the textbooks. Instead, it should teach children how to be an all-rounded citizen. Volunteering in a community can help achieve this ultimate goal. A variety of skills can be honed during this process, such as leadership, communication skills, team spirit, time management etc. Thus, it is necessary for students to be obliged to do unpaid community service.

In addition, the involvement of some charity work alike can somehow improve the fitness level of the students. Since the computer emerged, many people have lived a sedentary lifestyle. High school students are no exceptions. Volunteering in the community can prevent them from sitting in front of the little screen all day long, which definitely will do good to their health .

Admittedly, considering the tight timetable high school students normally have, doing voluntary work may increase their workload and cause some stress. However, in the long term, this experience can be rewarding for them. It is worth the time and the efforts they invest in .