IELTS - Unlimited use of cars may cause many problems.

Unlimited use of cars may cause many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce the problem, the public should be discouraged to use cars. What are your opinions?

Someone has said it right : cars have indeed become an article of dress without which we feel uncertain , unclad and incomplete. This is the reason the number of cars on the roads is on the rise each year. Undoubtedly, this has caused serious congestion on the roads and longer commuting periods. Surveys reveal that this condition is more likely to worsen in the future. Hence, effective solutions must be achieved in order to lessen the problem of over using cars. Some suggest that the public should be discouraged to use cars. I agree to the aforementioned resolution, provided that those in charge improve the conditions of the public transports, with the government introducing certain policies.

First of all, in order to persuade the public to make use of the public transports frequently, it is important for the authorities to construct more free parks. By so doing, people can drive from their respective homes and finally take the public transport such as bus or the light rail transit (LRT) into the central where they work or study. As a result, they will be able to not only enjoy a more relaxed journey, but also will be able to reduce the traffic jams on the road. Besides that, passengers would prefer to travel in a comfortable condition. So, if companies enhance their services, for instance by keeping their transports clean always, it is more likely that they retain as well as draw more satisfied passengers.

Next, the government should have more tolls along the urban motorways. As a consequence, many would opt to use the public transports as they will be able to save money on their travels. This policy has been successfully implemented in many cities and is certainly effective in reducing the number of cars on the road. Apart from that, by increasing the price of parking permits and restricting the number of car parks in urban areas, undeniably, more car users will abandon their cars in favour of public transports.

To put it in a nutshell, the usage of cars should indeed be trimmed down. Instead, people can choose to use the public transports or even walk if their destinations are only a stone's throw away from their homes. If this happens, grave problems on the road can thus be diminished and all can definitely travel at ease.