University entrance exam should no longer be mandatory

Some Asian countries such as Japan, China or Vietnam still keep the university entrance exam while the USA and European countries like the UK or France have already abolished it. Whether to maintain the exam to enter university is always a controversial matter, and in my opinion, there are some specific reasons why this exam should not be kept in the educational system.

Firstly, the university entrance exam can wrongly reflect students' ability. There are pupils who study excellently but may still fail this exam. Candidates have to suffer from the anxiety about their exams from the day they start revising for the tests to the day they receive the results. Their parents' high expectations can also put them under pressure, and all these factors make students endure bouts of nervousness, which undoubtedly have negative effect on their exam. Cheating still happen in this exam, and a large number of students who only have average learning capacity can pass it easily by cheating. It is apparent that both bad and good students are wrongly-evaluated in this way.

Moreover, keeping university entrance exam may lead to injustice among candidates. Not to mention the fact that it poorly assesses students' ability, the money that people have to pay to take exams can cause inequality as well. Some students who do not have enough money may not be eligible for this exam, and therefore a sizeable sum of talented ones may be left out.

In conclusion, regarding all the aforementioned reasons, I think the university entrance exam should no longer be mandatory. Instead of keeping it, the Education Department should abolish it and concentrate on the university education and the graduation requirements, which are of higher importance and have much more influence on students' life and future.

I also log in some other websites with the name "meo_con_34" so if anyone here sees this essay as a post of that account, please understand that it's not plagiarism.