TOEFL - Universities should give money to sport activities or libraries

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Universities should give the same amount of money to their students' sport activities as they give to their university libraries.

Libraries and sports activities are play important roles in universities success. Most university rankings pay attention to quality of these two activities. In my opinion universities should invest in libraries more than anywhere else.

First, I think a library is vital and strategical part of a university. All professors and students need to have a modern and well-equipped library because, after internet, library plays an important role in research. Although sport is important, it does not have the same priority of library has. In addition only small part of students attend sport activities. For example, in my university number of students who use the library is much more than students do sports activities.

Second, usually libraries do not have income. Most libraries are free not for students also for public. Hence, universities support is vital for libraries. But sport activities have a good income because every sport has different matches and for each match they have a lot sponsors. Also, they have this chance to sell their important matches tickets. To conclude, there are good ways for sports activities to compensate their expenses, but it is very hard for libraries to find a good way for have an income.

Last but not least, investing in libraries has a long-time result. For example, a library can buy a lot of new books or they can buy more computers. Most of the library facilities are stable and you can use them for a long time. Besides, in the far future, they become more valuable. On the other side, most sports facilities except buildings are usually can be used in short-time and they are not persistent for a long-time.

In spite of the importance of sports activities, libraries are more important. They are critical part of universities and a good university has to have a modern library.