Unbalanced approach, does not hold true in all situation - Praise positive actions, ignore negative

What's the best way to teach? Praise positive actions & Ignore negative ones?

The recommendation in the prompt represents an unbalanced approach and does not hold true in all situations. Although I agree that praise of positive actions is good but ignorance of negative actions can be very harmful in some situations. Ignorance in case of wrong actions that do not affect other person's life may be acceptable but if a bad action can harm other people's life then silence is simply a crime.

It is the nature of every man that he wants to be praised and accepted by all. This is also a motivational factor in learning new and good things. If a student performs well in a classroom and teacher appreciates him, this appreciation will not only encourage him to do well in the future but it will also be a motivational factor for other students in the class. Similarly, a child helps his classmates in studies or shares his lunch with others then he is showing his love and care for others. These are examples of good behavior. The teacher's appreciation would inculcate good qualities in him. On the other hand, if the teacher does not appreciate him for doing so, he would not repeat it in the future. He will not consider it a praiseworthy or good deed.

In contrast, if a student beats his classmates or steals things from his fellow students, this kind of unethical action is highly intolerable and cannot be ignored. The student should be scorned in front of the class so that he does not repeat it again. Silence in this case would tantamount to tacit approval for this wrongdoing. It would set bad example for other students as well.

Similarly there might be situations in which scolding a negative action could result in harmful consequences. Take the example of a student who is not paying attention in the class or does not perform well in studies. This student may be disturbed by some domestic issues like divorce of his parents or he may be suffering from a learning disorder like dyslexia. In this situation, punishing and scolding him simply will not solve the problem. These types of students need counseling and empathetic treatment. They may need a different teaching methodology otherwise they may lose interest in studies.

In the end, we can conclude that simply saying that the best way to teach is praise of positive actions and ignorance of negative actions is not all encompassing phenomenon. While praise of good deeds leads to good actions, at the same time ignorance of wrong deeds could result in harmful consequences. There should be balanced approach of teaching depending upon the situations as discussed above.