A two-paragraph essay about speaking in front of a crowd of people.

Write a two paragraph essay on the following theme: "One experience that almost everyone fears is when they have to speak in front of a crowd of people." In paragraph one, describe why people tend to view this is a frightening situation; in paragraph two, describe a time when you had to speak or perform in front of a crowd.

Speak in Public.

People usually tend to view speaking in front of a crowd of people is a frightening situation because of many reasons. First, people do not practice speaking in public. They have not used to speak reasonably and choose proper words in daily conversations with their friends and families. So they fear to fail their first experience in front of a large audience. Second, People feel scared, uncomfortable, and alone when standing on a stage with everyone's eyes focused on them and judging them. These feelings make them nervous and unable to perform effectively. Finally, some people simply do not know how to write and prepare for a reasonable speech. Thus, they lose confidence and the flow of their speech.

The first time I spoke in front of my classmates, I was unconscious. I forgot writing the subject on the board at the beginning. During the class, I avoided looking at my mentor who was assessing my performance. When it was reciting time, I remained speechless for a few seconds. My mouth was dry. Finally, as I could recite, my voice came out deep and choked, but I continued carelessly. While engaging in my speech, "It is enough" said my mentor. Her words gave me goose bumps. I had not yet mentioned all the lecture points. Going to my seat, I became on the verge of tears. For the rest of the class period, I kept getting angrier with myself. Why did not I manage class's time effectively? I thought to myself. "Though there are few weaknesses in your class, it was a good effort." my mentor said. When I heard that, I felt comfortable and more enthusiastic to perform a better class later.