IELTS writing task two>Compare the advantage vs. disadvantage of three media

Hallo~~

The essay below is my writing from IELTS practice materials.

I hope there is no many mistakes.

"Compare the disadvantage and advantage of books,radio, and TV as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective."

Words and languages are the products derived from the want of communicating information inside human beings. Before the invention of words and languages, our ancestors had started to communicate by drawings on rocks.

In nowadays society, there are plenty of different media to spread information and knowledge. Here I am going to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of books, radio, and TV. One advantage of books is that they contain huge amount of information: events, detailed description, and effects. These allow readers to acquire clear, specific, and professional knowledge. However, its biggest drawback is its limitation to the elites. For the illiterates, books are something unattainable and out of reach.

Regarding the radio, it is convenient, easy to carry (especially today's mp3 players), and up-to-date. Nevertheless, most of the time the acquisition of a listener may be affected by the surrounding noises and thus, missing important information. In contrast to radio, TV is more attractive with its colorful and exuberate image. Everyone can easily be attracted and concentrate on what is going on inside the small box. In fact, TV had too many other entertainment programs, which can stole audiences' attention from educational or news channels. It is the disadvantage and also the reason why TV has not been used as an effective teaching medium.

As far as I concern, TV is a fantastic discovery that we should reconsider its function in education. We should fully use its attractive and lively images, and also produce more educational programs to communicate information to everyone. In addition, we should enhance the accessibility to TV in rural areas, helping indigenous people to be able to get in touch with the latest information.