IELTS; tuition fees, who are responsible to pay?

Students should pay the full cost of university studies,rather than have free higher education provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Over the last few decades, student's fees have been a constant subject of debate due to increasing charge at most universities. A number of people opine that each student must pay for their own university fees, whilst others, including me contend with this.

There are several multifarious reasons that it is justifiable for the state to take full responsibility in providing free education for everyone. First, people are obliged to pay high amount of taxes, even those who are less fortunate. It is also lucrative for the government sine everyone will be able to finish their chosen courses, land a good job and eventually help improve the economy of the country. In addition, university expenditures are much more expensive compared to school level education; hence, not everyone can bear the burden of sending students to a university most especially if there are two or more students in a family. What's more, there are many extraordinary learners who belong to less fortunate families. If the government will not be able to give opportunity for these types of students, the country will ultimately lose an important asset that can drive the economy into a higher level.

On the other hand, opponents declare that university education should not be free at all because there are many issues more important than giving free education that need to be tackled first. For example in India, over population, health, food and clean water supply need more emphasis since these are indispensable for the survival of the country. Additionally, it is more difficult for the magistrates to provide free education for there are some college courses that are costly and could impede the growing economy of a nation. Instead of extravagantly spending money on education, states could splurge into infrastructures which provide work for people so they can send their children to university.

In conclusion, it is fundamental for the government to focus on the education system by providing everyone a free access to a higher education. After all, education is considered to be one of the most important treasures of any country.