With all the troubles in the world today, money spent on space exploration is a waste!

With all the troubles in the world today, money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. The money could be better spent on other things.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Every day on the Earth 1000 children die from malnutrition and hunger, over 2000 people die from cancer and AIDS. Every year environmentalists urge global society to take some urgent measures to stop global warming, to preserve the endangered spices. Such considerations have led some to question the ethics of investing huge sums of money on space exploration. As far as I concerned, the price that we pay for space exploration is unreasonably high and those money could be used better.

Public become aware about AIDS as a fatal disease just in the 1980s and 2000s it already becomes an epidemic, which quickly spreads all over the world, affecting young population. There are still no drugs to eradicate the virus, no vaccine to protect risk groups and to safe lives of millions. Moreover the maintenance treatment for each person could reach as far as 20000 dollars per month, which is barely affordable by every sick person. So, state financial support is the last resort for those who are already sick; likewise it is the hope for society that modern science would find remedy to take control over AIDS.

Another global problem is poverty. Most of the population of the developing countries struggle for food, source of clean water, access for medical care. It will entail enormous international finance to facilitate and sustain development of economy, health sector and education. Therefore, this major problem couldn't be neglected for the sake of space exploration.

No one would argue against the fact that space research could open the door in a new era of human existence, provide the scientists with interesting findings. However I inclined to think that money must be spend to curb poverty, to find treatment for AIDS rather than to conduct highly scientific research.