Tragic decrease in the life quality in many major cities; Causes, solutions for poor living standard

Many major cities in the world are facing the dramatic decrease in the life quality. There are various reasons for this alarming trend but measures could certainly be taken to tackle the problem.

The living standards in urban areas are worsening for a number of reasons. Firstly, air pollution could be seen one of the biggest threats to human beings. Gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles are the causes of some dangerous problems such as lung cancer and respiratory diseases. Secondly, stress is becoming a common phenomenon of city dwellers. The ever growing population leads to the increasing demands for basic necessities and the competition in seeking a job. They become more materialistic as a result of stressful lives.

In order to resolve the problem described above, both governments and individuals should take action together. Governments could introduce laws to ban cars and encourage people to walk or cycle. Furthermore, imposing "green" taxes on drives and airlines companies should be also considered as a good punishment. In addition, they could reduce the migration to cities by making available jobs in towns or villages resulting in lowing pressure on living cost. "Life is ups-and-downs", city dwellers should also spend more time on relaxing and recovering their health and spirit.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the decreasing in the life quality and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.