Nowadays traffic in major cities is worsening. What problems does it create? Solutions?

Nowadays traffic in major cities is worsening. What problems does it create? How can we help solve these problems as individuals?

Traffic congestion has been one of the major problems in contemporary society. This issue has partly been the result of rapid urbanization and partly result of increase in disposable income of individuals. In this essay, I will discuss the major reasons behind the increase in Traffic problems and identify the solutions to minimize its impact.

People moving from the towns to city looking for the job and educational opportunities have been increasing in the recent times. Modernizing the public infrastructure to meet the demand of the population becomes imperative with increase in population. However, government has been lagging far behind in its spending for public infrastructure such as road and transportation network.

Likewise, we have witnessed the tremendous economic growth for last couple of decade. As an outcome of this, the level of people disposable income has significantly increased. With increase in disposable income, people tend to look for various avenues in which to make investment. In my observation, industries such as automobiles have been successful to entice these customers by associating automobiles with the social status of people. Consumer falls into this vicious trap buys latest and trendy cars regardless of whether there is an immediate need for such vehicles.

Government needs to be more proactive in anticipating the latent demand and make necessary arrangement to cope up with problems. I think government has various tools at its disposable to curtail this problem. Public awareness campaign could be used to make people more aware about the environmental issues and and also to encourage people to use public transports. This can be implemented in multiple ways. Firstly, the public transportation system should be made more efficient, perhaps subsidized. Secondly, free car parking facilities should be developed in close proximity to all the major train station. Thirdly, government can reward the people, who directly or indirectly contribute to minimize the traffic problems by adopting the measures such as car- pooling. For example, a separate high-speed lane is provided for car with more than three people.

In conclusion, traffic congestion is a complex in nature, as it requires changing the perception and behavior of people. I am certain that with government participation and policy, its impact can be minimize