IELTS: public transportation and more flyovers as a solution for traffic congestion

Topic : traffic is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures could be taken to reduce traffic congestion in big cities.

It is true that traffic congestion is now an increasingly serious problem that many major cities have to face with, it has negative impact not only on individuals but the society as a whole. In this essay, measures to address this issue will be carefully examined.

Firstly, people should be encouraged to travel by public transportations to reduce the number of vehicles on the road. Since one of the main cause of traffic jam is that there are too many private vehicles travelling at the same time, especially in rush hours, the heavy traffic can be tackled when people prefer buses or subways rather than their own cars. For allowing that to happen, governments should provide affordable and comfortable public transportations, particularly 24/24 buses, to meet the needs of the population. For instance, in Manchester, Stagecoach buses have been proved to be effective when it help to reduce significant amount of traffic on the roads in peak hours.

Another solutions to mitigate the issue is to build more flyovers. It is particularly efficient in overcrowded cities such as Tokyo or Delhi where it is impossible to find more land for building roads. Flyovers will help to avoid too many vehicles travelling at the same time on one road, and therefore contribute to the reduction of traffic jam. My hometown Ho Chi Minh city ,for example, is the most densely polulated city in my country, traffic congestion has been decreased dramatically since more flyovers were built, and now we hardly get stuck in such congestion anymore.

To conclude, although it will take long time for traffic problem to disappear, it can be tackled step by step by public transportations as well as more flyovers being constructed.