[IELTS] Tourists should follow local customs or host should welcome differences

Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Answer:

As the world becomes more affluent, many people enjoy travelling transnationally to domestically. This trend has sparked off a controversy over how people should behave when going to another country. Some believe that tourists should behave like the local people, while others argue that the host country should accept the differences.

There are two reasons for travellers to follow the local traditions and customs. First of all, people travel not only to relax but also to learn new things, so they need to involve themselves in the local daily life. By trying local clothes, eating local food, greeting others as the local people do, they can understand the lifestyles people there lead, the viewpoints they hold and the traditions they have passed on many generations in depth. It is also undoubtedly beneficial for those who want to learn new foreign languages. In addition, following local customs is a great way to show respect to the destinations they go to. As a saying goes, 'When in Rome, do as the Romans do', it has always been a social rule when people travel to a new place.

On the other hand, other people argue that cultural differences should be accepted and welcomed for some reasons. Firstly, it is obviously impossible for anyone to change his or her lifestyle in a short time. Adaptation to a new culture takes a quite long time, says, about 1 year. Yet, visitors only go to a foreign country when they have a vacation or holiday, usually less than 1 month. Moreover, welcoming other cultures is a good chance for people in host country to learn more about the world, which, in turn, may promote international understanding.

In conclusion, I think that when visiting another country, people should try to follow the local cultures and traditions to have a more enjoyable trip.