Toefl: today men only focus attention on meeting their needs for farmlands, housing, or industry

Topic: Some people think that human needs for farmlands, housing, or industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays many animals are on the verge of extinction since their habitats are being destroyed by mankind. This fact is enormously serious. It can lead to a loss in biodiversity and a decrease in a precious medicine supply for human beings. These are the reasons why I strongly disagree with the idea that men should use land for cultivation, industrialization, or housing rather than save land for endangered species.

First and foremost, biodiversity protection is particularly significant. The fact is that a variety of scientific articles have stressed the importance of saving land for rare animals in protecting the natural environment. If endangered animals do not have suitable habitats, there is the great possibility that they will be extinct. This is certain to cause a decrease in biodiversity and, therefore, result in natural imbalance. Human beings ourselves are the ones who suffer from the severe subsequent effects, such as floods, droughts, or storms. Obviously, saving land to maintain habitats for endangered animals means protecting the lives of other living creatures on earth.

Moreover, human dependence on animals for medicine is great. Many environmentalists assume that in the bodies of many species there are substances which play a pivotal part in some medical treatments. This is the cause why these animals have been being hunted so much that some of them are driven to extinction. If human beings only care about growing crops or developing the economy, there will be no land left for animals to dwell in. Consequently, many animals will disappear forever. This means that many diseases cannot be treated and many patients cannot be cured. Indeed, saving habitats for animals is crucial for mankind.

In conclusion, today men only focus attention on meeting their needs for farmlands, housing, or industry without taking animals habitats protection into consideration. This fact is possible to cause natural imbalance and decrease a precious medicine source for medical treatments. Both of these things are serious. Therefore, it is high time that we human beings changed our minds.