IELTS Topic: How do organizations give help to poor countries

Topic: International organizations should provide poor countries with technology and practical advice rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Giving financial support to the countries in poverty directly is a kind of way that some international aid organizations usually give help in. However, some people argue that rather than money, actual suggest and technical support are more useful to those poor areas. I totally agree with this argument and will prove it by evidence.

Money in a certain amount, admittedly, could solve the serious poverty problems in a short period, however, what is needed for those poor countries is the sustainable and independent way of development which can only be contributed by the improvement in all aspects of society, such as technology, education and medical care. For example, China has been giving help to Africa for several decades. In the first decades, supports from organizations in China including money, cloth and food had been sent to some poor areas in Africa, however, people there were still suffering from poverty and hunger due to the lack of self-development ability. In order to solve this problem at the root, a technology in agriculture has been introduced to Niger and Nigeria by the Desert Control Research Institute of Gansu, China, aiming at curbing desertification and improving corn crop harvest, which has been proved effective in local areas. Therefore, those places will be less dependent on food importation from outside and release hunger problem gradually.

On top of that, practical suggestion and help will benefit the poor countries more than financial support in some cases. Take the medical condition in Africa as an example. There are a big number of people died from the deficiency of basic medical care every year in Africa even under the financial aid from other countries. This is mainly because the governments there are lacking practical and effective experiences in social administration, such as education popularizing and medical construction. Therefore, volunteer doctors from Red Cross or any other organizations and international exchange on country development are more important than money to those places in poverty as experienced doctors could help in improving local medical services and good examples on social medical construction from other developed countries are essential to be learnt.

In conclusion, any kinds of supports from worldwide organizations should be respected while in order to solve the problems in poor countries at the root, rather than money, the supports in improving technology, such as the skills in boosting local agriculture, and practical suggestion on social administration like medical care improvement are more desirable and useful.