TOEFL-AD. Television has had a greater effect on people's lives than the telephone has.

AD. Television has had a greater effect on people's lives than the telephone has.

Both television and telephone are the results of the technological development of the modern technology. While television has brought a new era of information with visuals, telephone enabled quick and easy communication between people, no matter how far they are apart. Nevertheless, television is more closely connected to people's lives and people spend more time with television rather than telephone. Thus, I agree that television has had a greater effect on people's lives than the telephone has.

First of all, television is a broadcasting media. Some people might argue that telephone can also act as a medium. However, television is a form of medium that influences how people think. Its role as a medium is so huge compared to the telephone that there are strict regulations for television programs. A lot of people hear news reported from the television and it affects public opinion. This is also related to establishing different kinds of political opinion. In addition, it transmits information widely. Its distribution of information is far broader, faster and more accurate than telephone's.

Secondly, television has had a great cultural influence. Cinema and television is similar in that they serve moving picture contents. However, they are quite different that cinema is separated from daily life but TV is so near to our daily life. Television brought motion picture contents such as drama and movie into individual's house. Watching television became an easy way to enjoy video or miving picture contents in one's own house. Also it gave rise to a new culture. It distributed to the creation of mass culture and pop culture, which affects almost all parts of people's lives nowadays. In addition, it changed the way how people spend their free time remarkably as watching TV became a popular pastime for people of all ages.

Lastly, television educates people. With visual information, people can experience new environments and learn new things without actually visiting the place or actually learning them from a teacher. Documentaries are a good example of this. They give in-depth information with colorful visuals and vivid sounds. They are good educators in that they offer information which we can't encounter easily.

Television changed how people think, how they enjoy their life and how they learn and experience. Opponents may say that telephone also influenced people's lives in those ways. Even so, you may not deny the fact that the impact of the television was bigger. Therefore, I think the impact that television has had on people is larger than the telephone's.

I would appreciate advise for revision of this essay:)