'telephones rank first and television second' - what have a bigger impact in people's life?

Do you agree that telephones are playing a more effective role than television in people's life?

During the twentieth century, there are great deals of invents, such as telephone and television, making profound impacts throughout our lives. Recently, there is certain magazine which has conducted a survey to elect which invent plays a most effective role in people's lives. As a result, telephones rank first, which televisions are second to. As far as I'm concerned, whereas, they play equally effective roles in our lives.

To begin with, thanks to the arrival of telephone, contacting people throughout the world has become feasible and convenient. Furthermore according to an authoritative report, mostly people would get attack by anxiety devoid of telephones. So the influence brought by telephones is notable and cannot be exaggerated more. In Qing dynasty, for instance, if the king wanted to tell a minister in a remote province about certain significant word, he had to send a person with a letter from Beijing to a place several thousand kilometers from the Forbidden City, which would require several months plus was nice and arduous. Besides, the letter might be lost to a large extent. Currently, however, we can inform people of word just via making a telephone call. Therefore, the influence of telephone has not been minimal.

As there is no coin just one side, television owns its merits, such as countless information's spreading. As a result, we are capable to obtain what is happening over the world with vivid screen and are undergoing the era of information explosion, which is the advantage belonging to television only. During the period of the 2012 London Olympic Game, for example, I along with my grandma watched the opening ceremony through television. My grandma told me when she was a little girl, watching such ceremony was far from imaginable. Nowadays owning to the great creation, television, the unimaginable has been turned to the imaginable. Thus, On this level, I assert that television has had a much greater impact on people's lives.

To sum up, it is inadequate to simply say that the telephone has had a greater influence on people's lives than the television because both have some outstanding functions that cannot be overtaken by the other. Consequently, I subscribe to the opinion that the two objects have both had a significant bearing on people's lives.