'Telecommuting' refers to workers doing their jobs from home- IELTS

'Telecommuting' refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades.

How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

These days there has been a significant increase in number of people working from home and use computers to communicate with their office. If this trend continues to rise, there will be a far reaching effects in the modern society. The changes in corporate work structure and the urban life as a result of telecommuting will be analysed for feasibility.

Although, companies and government agencies can save cost by implementing the idea of telecommuting, the employees loyalty towards work will be questionable. For instance, when the number of people show up for work is lessened due to telecommuting, many empty desks can be expected in the office. As a result, offices grow smaller and employees come in for work have to share desk with their colleagues which in turn affect the social atmosphere and morality of the employees in the company. Thus, it is clear that employees loyalty will be affected if more people start to work at home.

In addition to the above, it is felt that the urban life is likely to be affected because of telecommuting. For example, it is obvious that when more people gravitate towards the idea of working at home, fewer cars will be seen on cities . This example illustrates the fact that people will have less reason to travel to city center and other nearby areas. Therefore , shopping centers and other business outlets have to relocate out of the city.

Despite working at home offer benefits to workers in number of ways, the negative ramification on changes in work environment and city life should be taken into consideration. It is predicted that the concept of telecommuting will be implemented on a case-by- case basis.