TOEFL - Teenagers have jobs while they are students? UNICEF discourages states

TOEFL - In some countries, teenagers have jobs while they are still students. Do you think this is a good idea? Support your opinion.

Most developed countries have strong regulations that does not allow employers to employ teenagers. However, in third world countries, usually countries are located in Asia, Africa and south America, that suffer from poverty working for teenagers is an normal activity and inevitable. Although UNICEF discourages governments to have a strong policy against working young children, they are not fully successful.

Some nations that are not wealthy enough because of large population or other reasons, so young children does not have enough facilities to study in calm situation. Thus, they have to work not matter of sex or age. If they do not work hard, they have problem with basic needs such as food, clothing, and shelter. Thus, they do not have any other choices unless work hard. Moreover, they should save some of their income for other family members because some of them are too young or too old for working or having disabilities.

On the other hand, many sociologist and psychologists believe that governments should not allow workers to hire teenagers. First, they are in their growing ages, so they are not strong enough to tolerate long working hours or jobs stress. They should have safe circumstance for growing and have a chance to eat good foods and play with their peers.

Second reason why teenagers should not work in their teenage years is that they should concentrate on their education because this is only chance they have in their live to going to schools and studying. Furthermore, if they study in a good condition, in the future, they will be more positive and they can do better jobs.

All in all, Although in some countries because of their bad situations teenagers have to work, generally, governments should formulate a strong policy and support teenagers to not working and pursuing their educations because they are not mature enough to work and they will not find opportunities to going to schools in the future.