IELTS TASK 2; Technology vs Traditional Skills

I am writing for IELTS essay.

Subject: WHEN A COUNTRY DEVELOPS ITS TECHNOLOGY, THE TRADITIONAL SKILLS AND WAYS OF LIFE DIE OUT. IT IS POINTLESS TO TRY AND KEEP

THEM ALIVE. AGREE OR DISAGREE.

Technology has evolved exponentially in the past few decades. Most of the countries are more technology dependent than ever before. Due to which traditional skills are disappearing very rapidly. Government is trying hard to keep them alive. Some people agree with it and some do not.

People who support modern technology thinks that it is invalid to keep old traditional skills alive. First, new technology are fast and time saving. For example, show maker takes one complete day to make a pair of shoes while same can be done in few minutes at a shoe factory. In addition, technology saves money and delivers accurately. For instance, fabric made by cotton weaver is costly and may not be as good as fabric made in cloth mill.

On the other hand, there are many people disagree with this approach. Traditional skills are not just tools to make things but it is an art. Let us consider pottery. It is not just a skill to make vessels but it is also and art. Furthermore, people living in small village depend on these traditional skills. With the advent of technology, they have lost their bread and butter.

In a nutshell, advancement in the technology has certain pros and cons. If we want to reap the benifits of this progress, we have to make sure that no one is left behind. I think, it is good to move on and forget about traditional skills. It is difficult to meet today's large demand with old and slow tools. We can teach everyone to use new technology and we

can have inclusive growth.

WORD COUNT: 266 (Required: 250)

TIME: 35 minutes (Given: 40 minutes)

TARGET BAND: 6.5 (Out of 9)