Ielts essay: how does technology impact on the way we interact?

Hi, guys, I feel my idea is confined to internet only, will this affect my score on task response?

can you please advise on this? Thanks.

Topic: Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

Today, many people aloud the convenience and time-efficiency brought by modern technologies when they interact with each other, while others are concerned about the negative impacts of technological advancement on our life.

It is an indisputable fact that the modern technologies, especially the invention of the internet, has revolutionized the way people work, live, entertain and, most of all, communicate. To start with, the on-line communication tools such as MSN messager, emails, and teleconference software have facilitated the contacts of both the loved ones in faraway place and colleagues working in different region. Further, thanks to the development of e-commerce, today, people can perform a variety of activities, such as booking accommodation and flights, purchasing stuff ranging from clothing to cars, or even dating a stranger, without stepping out own house. Most importantly, the social website such as the Facebook has even built up an entire virtual world for us. Changing status, updating latest life photos or commenting on each other's page have become an increasingly popular way to socialize.

However, it is not uncommon to see that news coverage constantly reports on the detrimental effect of these changes in communication. Firstly, overusing internet and neglecting the "real communication" may lead to social isolation. Researches reveal that people who spend too much time at the computer terminal tend to have difficulties when communicating with people in the real world. Moreover, many family activities which normally help strengthen family bonds cannot be simply replaced by online chat. Can you imagine a Christmas dinner held on-line with people sitting in front of each other's computer? No, certainly not. Similarly, the enjoyment of family members browsing in shops together and helping each other choose the stuff they need, can never be achieved by online shopping.

Overall, I personally believe that technological development has changed our way of communication in a positive way, in terms of the convenience and time-efficiency. However, taken all the above mentioned negative influences into consideration, we do need to keep a balance between the time we spend on line and in real world.